With just weeks before the inaugural African Football League (AFL) kicks off in Tanzania we take a look at the strengths of the various teams taking part in the tournament and how it might influence their performance.

1.Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)-having been picked ahead of rivals, Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates, the Brazillians have the pedigree to take on the rest.

They have won the South African league four times and are the current champions. Other local trophies they have won include Nedbank (3) and MTN Top 8. Further, they have also won the Champions League and CAF Super Cup once each.

2.T.P Mazembe (Democratic Republic of Congo)-The three time CAF Champions League winners have been facing some lean times in recent times and the AFL gives them another opportunity to wake up from their long slumber. Their other exploits at the continental level include two CAF Super Cup trophies, one CAF Cup and one Africa Cup Winners Cup. Locally, they are almost unrivaled with 16 titles under their belt.

3.Simba Sports Club (Tanzania)-The Tanzanian giants carry the hopes of the East African region and their recent exploits in CAF Competitions gives them the right to compete with the best in Africa.

They are 22 Tanzanian League champions and have won the regional Council for East and Central Africa Football Association (CECACFA) cup six times. The closet they have come to winning a CAF tournament was in 1993 when they finished runners-up in the then CAF Cup.

4.Enyimba (Nigeria)-The Elephants are also on a revival after years of punching below their weight. At their peak, they won the CAF Champions league and CAF Super Cup league twice. Locally, they are the current Nigerian League champions a title they have won nine times in total.

5.Petro du Luanda (Angola)-Another side that has consistently taken part in CAF tournaments every year and even though they have not done well, they have built great experience over the years and will be a difficult side to ignore. They boast of atleast 34 local trophies including 17 league titles.

6.Esperance Sportive (Tunisia)-The Tunisian giants are one of the most successful clubs on the continent.  They have four CAF champions League titles under their belt, have won the CAF Cup and Africa Winners Cup  one time each. On top of that they have won the local league 32 times.

7.Al-Ahly-(Egypt)-They were named  the African Club of the Century in 2010 by CAF and it was not for nothing. Their trophy cabinet is teaming with plenty of trophies. They have won the most number of Champions League trophies currently standing at 11, four African Cup Winners Cup trophies, eight CAF Super Cup trophies and one Confederations Cup trophy.

They are four-time Egyptian League winners.

8.Wydad Casablanca (Morocco)-The Moroccan giants also  have plenty to offer in the competition having won the Champions League three times and the CAF Super Cup once. Locally, they have won the Moroccan league title 17 times.

AFL Live image 1

Follow AFL via the website at www.afl.africa
For social media, engage with us through the following links:

Facebook: africanfootballleague
Instagram: afl_africa
X (Twitter): afl_africa
TikTok: afl_africa